BVLGARI

BVLGARI

Novelties

The Bulgari's descend from an ancient family of Greek silversmiths whose activity began in a small village of Epirus, where Sotirio, the founder of the family, made precious objects in silver. In 1879 Sotirio emigrated to Italy and after a few months spent in Naples he finally moved to Rome. At the very beginning he sold his objects in front of the French Academy on the Pincio. Then a Greek merchant offered to let him display his objects in a corner of the window of his shop, placed at the beginning of via Sistina. Sotirio was very successful, thanks to the original style of the ornaments he was selling. In 1884 Sotirio was able to open his first store in the same street. In 1894 he moved to 28 via dei Condotti. In 1905 he moved the store to via dei Condotti 10. It was called “Old Curiosity Shop” from the title of a Charles Dickens novel. This name was chosen in order to attract British and American tourists. In these years Sotirio started to sell an increased selection of jewels and accessories for personal embellishment. As business in Rome during the summer months was very quiet, Sotirio decided to capitalize on trade at summer resorts. He settled for St. Moritz, where he was successful. In the succeeding years other subsidiaries were opened and run by Sotirio’s relatives. However, after a while, he realized the necessity of concentrating his business in one location in order to excel in the art of jewellery and silver making. He therefore focused on his Rome store. The first decades of the 20th century were important for Sotirio’s sons, Giorgio and Costantino, who developed a passionate interest in precious stones and jewels and learnt the secrets of the trade, gradually taking over their father’s role. In 1934, two years after Sotirio’s death, the via dei Condotti store was enlarged and refurbished. This new store was inaugurated on the 9th of April 1934 and it was so successful that both its façade and its interior served to illustrate the entry “negozio” in the Enciclopedia Treccani, the most important Italian encyclopaedia. The period following the Second World War marked an important turning point in Bulgari history. In fact, it is during this period that Bulgari moved away from the strict disciplines of the dominant French school to create its own unique style inspired by the Greek and Roman classicism, the Italian Renaissance, and the 19th century Roman school of goldsmiths. The 1970's marked the beginning of the Group’s international expansion with the opening of stores in New York (the first overseas), Paris, Geneva, and Monte Carlo. It was also in this decade that Bulgari introduced the Bulgari Bulgari which was to become a successful watch classic. Bulgari Time was established in Neuchâtel – Switzerland in the early 80’s for the creation and production of all Bulgari watch lines. In 1984 the sons of Giorgio, Paolo Bulgari and Nicola Bulgari, became respectively Chairman and Vice-Chairman. Their nephew, Francesco Trapani, was nominated Chief Executive Officer. The 1990’s represented another turning point. Bulgari implemented the diversification strategy with the introduction of fragrances and accessories and gave further boost to its international expansion by having the Holding Company Bulgari S.p.A. listed on the Milan Stock Exchange. After 2000 Bulgari’s vertical integration strategy continued with the acquisition of companies operating in the sectors of watch-making and leather goods and the accessories business got a further boost with the opening of fully dedicated stores. Today the Bulgari creations, renowned for the distinctive, bold and contemporary style, are highly appreciated by an international clientele fond of high quality and unique design. THE BVLGARI QUALITY